New(born) inspiration

Having a newborn nephew around has sure been fun so far–and given me lots of motivation to practice some sewing. Good thing his mom doesn’t mind letting Calvin be the guinea pig for my first go at lots of new patterns/ideas! 🙂

Today I tried a kimono style top and some matching pants, and I was pretty happy with how it all turned out. The top was really pretty simple to put together–and would have been easier had I read the instructions all the way to the end before lamenting for an hour that I MUST have done something wrong since I couldn’t figure out how to get the dumb thing to tie with only two strings…when at the end I was supposed to attach two more. Duh! Maybe someday I can make one as beautiful as the ones pictured here, where I found the free instructions (although I modified mine a bit).

The finished product:

IMG_1614

With coordinating pants:

IMG_1620

And just because I love, love, LOVE this fabric!

IMG_1627

I ended up putting a snap inside instead of a second set of ties; I found it cuts down on the bulk and seems like it’d be a bit more functional. Next time, I think I’ll make the sleeves longer and maybe narrow in the neck a bit. It’s fun to play around with something new!

November 10, 2009. Tags: , , . Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. dressingmyself replied:

    S0 cute – love the fabric.

  2. Melissa replied:

    It’s ADORABLE! I can’t wait to see it on Calvin!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

